Skip to the content

The CAAT Pension Plan is independent, jointly governed and fully funded. Employers and members share equally in decisions about benefits and contributions through their representatives on two governing bodies. The Plan is highly respected for its pension and investment management expertise and operated for long-term sustainability.

Why is this Plan better?

Joining an industry-leading jointly sponsored multi-employer plan removes the risk of pension reductions and the requirement for Pension Benefit Guaranteed Fund premiums (in Ontario), which have increased substantially.

Employers who go bankrupt often have insufficient funds in the pension plan to protect the benefits promised to members. Joining the CAAT Plan provides a secure pension that is not dependent on any one employer. This means:

  • Lower stress for employees
  • Higher employee engagement
  • More financially productive retirees who rely less on taxpayer funded social and health programs.

Visit the CAAT Pension Plan website to learn more about our pension and investment management expertise.

CAAT is an industry leader

Two hands shaking in greeting

Not-for-profit

We invest funds and manage pensions on a not-for-profit basis. Expenditures are minimized so there is more money to pay pensions rather than high management fees and commissions.

Lock

Sustainable and secure

We offer the benefits Canadians want and we’re more sustainable and efficient at funding pensions than single-employer plans. We offer employers and members higher value at lower risk, cost, and complexity. The jointly governed CAAT Pension Plan stands 118% funded on a going-concern basis, with a funding reserve of $2.3 billion, based on its latest actuarial valuation as at January 1, 2018.

Man seen through looking glass

Expertise

CAAT is sufficient in scale to attract and retain exceptional individuals with focused expertise, in the key areas of investments, funding, communications, and administration.

Three people around a desk

Joint governance

Our success is built on shared governance and its collective focus on benefit security, stable and appropriate contribution rates and the goal of treating members of different groups and generations fairly.

Bar chart trending up

Funding Policy

Our Funding Policy is at the core of how we secure pensions. It provides a solid framework for the CAAT Plan governors to make decisions as they exercise their fiduciary duty and keep benefits secure.

Checkmark

Quick, efficient and proven

We have the experience to manage the transition and consolidation of pension plans from existing workplace arrangements – the Royal Ontario Museum (ROM), Youth Services Bureau (YSB) and Sheridan Student Union are recent examples. We can also efficiently manage the transition of legacy DB plans, group RRSP, and DC arrangements into CAAT.

Computer monitor displaying the DBplus value tool.

Try the DBplus Value Tool

This simple tool estimates the value of a pension in DBplus by the CAAT Pension Plan. With just a few pieces of information, get an estimate of future contributions in DBplus and immediately see how they result in a valuable lifetime retirement income.

I am pleased to see a well-run public pension plan like CAAT offering its services to more Canadians. CAAT’s combination of fiduciary governance, professional investment management, risk pooling, and focus on delivering predictable retirement income provides strong value for plan members. The plan deserves credit for taking action to expand access to retirement security.

Alex Mazer, Founding Partner, Common Wealth Pension Services

All employer expenses are included in CAAT Plan contributions

Employers offering workplace pensions are likely to incur a number of expenses related to investing or administering their single-employer pension plans. These include consulting fees, governance costs and the expenses of administration and systems. With the CAAT Pension Plan, there are no additional expenses. In addition, as CAAT Plan benefits and contribution rates are not subject to collective bargaining, there are fewer associated costs and less complexity.

Security and stability for the long term

Our pension promise to our members is very strong. As a multi-employer pension plan, CAAT’s sustainability isn’t tied to the financial wellbeing of a single employer, removing a key risk to benefit security for members. As of January 1, 2018, the CAAT Pension Plan stands 118% funded, with a funding reserve of $2.3 billion. For every dollar promised in pension payments, the Plan has a $1.18 set aside.

Visit the CAAT Pension Plan website to learn how good governance and investment expertise contribute to strong performance.

 

With its sustainable plan design, strong governance process based on fiduciary principles, and balanced investment program, the CAAT Pension Plan is truly an effective workplace pension plan for the 21st Century. …The CAAT Plan’s ability to adapt to changing circumstances stands it, and its members, in very good stead.

Keith Ambachtsheer, President, KPA Advisory Services Ltd. Director Emeritus, Rotman International Centre for Pension Management, University of Toronto

CAAT Pension Plan

Established in 1967, the CAAT Plan offers multiple designs of a defined benefit (DB) pension. CAAT is open to organizations joining the Plan from the broader public sector, not-for-profit sector, and private sector. The CAAT Plan is fully funded and with assets of $10.8 billion, provides lifetime pensions to 46,000 members and offers the benefits of a DB plan to 41 employers.

Contact Us Image

Interested in learning more?

If you represent an interested employer or member group and would like to speak to us, contact the CAAT Pension Plan directly.

Skip to the content

Menu
Le Régime de retraite des CAAT est indépendant, régi conjointement et entièrement capitalisé. Les employeurs et les participants partagent également les décisions, les avantages et les cotisations par l'intermédiaire de leurs représentants au sein de deux organes directeurs. Le Régime est hautement respecté pour son expertise en matière de gestion des régimes de retraite et d'investissement et est axé sur la viabilité à long terme.

Pourquoi ce Régime constitue-t-il une avancée claire?

L'adhésion à un Régime interentreprises parrainé conjointement par un grand nombre de leadeurs du secteur supprime le risque de réduction des rentes et exempte le Régime du versement des primes au Fonds de garantie des prestations de retraite (en Ontario), qui ont augmenté considérablement.

Les employeurs qui font faillite ne disposent souvent pas des fonds nécessaires dans leurs fonds de retraite pour protéger les prestations promises aux participants. L'adhésion au Régime des CAAT assure une rente sure qui ne dépend pas de la santé financière d'un seul employeur. Cela signifie que :

  • les employés subissent moins de stress;
  • leur engagement au travail est accru;
  • et les employés retraités sont plus productifs sur le plan financier et dépendent moins des programmes sociaux et de santé financés par les contribuables.

Visitez le site Web du Régime de retraite des CAAT pour en apprendre davantage sur notre expertise en matière de régimes de retraite et de gestion des placements.

Le Régime des CAAT est un chef de file de l'industrie

deux mains

À but non lucrative

Nous plaçons les fonds et gérons les pensions sans but lucratif. Les dépenses sont réduites au minimum, de sorte que la somme maximale d'argent est allouée aux pensions, plutôt qu'aux frais d'exploitation et aux commissions.

cadre

Durable et sûr

Nous offrons les prestations que recherchent les Canadiens et afficherons une durabilité et une efficience plus élevées que les régimes à employeur unique. Nous offrons aux employeurs et aux participants une valeur supérieure, mais avec des risques, des couts, et une complexité moindres. Selon la plus récente évaluation actuarielle qui a été déposée le 1er janvier 2019, le Régime est capitalisé à hauteur de 120 % selon l'approche de continuité et il dispose d'une réserve de capitalisation de 2,6 milliards de dollars.

visionner

Expertise

Le Régime des CAAT a la portée suffisante pour attirer et retenir des personnes exceptionnelles possédant une expertise ciblée dans les domaines clés des investissements, du financement, des communications et de l'administration.

Gouvernance paritaire

La réussite du Régime s’explique par sa structure de gouvernance paritaire et par sa volonté commune d'assurer la sécurité des prestations au moyen de taux de cotisation stables et adéquats, ainsi que de traiter équitablement les participants provenant de divers groupes et générations.

Politique de financement

Notre politique de financement est au cœur de la sécurité des prestations. Elle établit un cadre solide de prise de décisions pour les dirigeants du Régime des CAAT pour l’exercice de leur devoir fiduciaire.

Rapide, efficace et éprouvé 

Nous avons l'expérience nécessaire pour gérer la transition et la consolidation des régimes de retraite à partir de programmes existants en milieu de travail. Le Musée royal de l'Ontario (ROM), le Bureau des services à la jeunesse (BSJ) et le Syndicat des étudiants du Collège Sheridan en sont des exemples récents. Nous pouvons également gérer efficacement la transition des régimes PD traditionnels, des REER collectifs et régimes CD vers le Régime des CAAT.

Outil

Mettez l'outil de valeur DBplus à l'essai

Cet outil convivial permet d'estimer la valeur d'une rente DBplus offerte par le Régime de retraite des CAAT. À l’aide de quelques renseignements, obtenez une estimation de vos cotisations futures avec DBplus et voyez immédiatement comment elles génèrent un précieux revenu de retraite.

Je suis heureux de voir un régime de retraite public bien géré comme le Régime des CAAT offrir ses services à davantage de Canadiens. La combinaison de la gouvernance fiduciaire, de la gestion professionnelle des placements, de la mutualisation des risques et de l’objectif de générer des revenus de retraite prévisibles du Régime des CAAT constitue un atout précieux pour les participants. Le Régime mérite d'être félicité pour avoir pris des mesures pour élargir l'accès à la sécurité financière à la retraite.

Alex Mazer, Partenaire fondateur, Common Wealth Pension Services
Image décorative

Toutes les dépenses de l'employeur sont comprises dans les cotisations au Régime des CAAT.

Les employeurs qui offrent des régimes de retraite en milieu de travail sont susceptibles d’engager un certain nombre de dépenses liées au placement ou à la gestion de leurs régimes de retraite à employeur unique. Ceux-ci comprennent les honoraires de conseil, les couts de gouvernance et les frais d'administration et de systèmes. Avec le Régime de retraite des CAAT, il n’y a aucune dépense supplémentaire. De plus, étant donné que les prestations et les taux de cotisation au régime CAAT ne sont pas assujettis à la négociation collective, les couts associés et la complexité sont moindres.

La sécurité et la stabilité à long terme

La promesse que nous avons faite à nos participants à l'égard de leurs pensions est très robuste. En tant que régime de retraite interentreprises, la durabilité du Régime des CAAT n’est pas liée au bienêtre financier d’un seul employeur, ce qui élimine un risque majeur en matière de sécurité des prestations pour les participants. Au 1er janvier 2019, le Régime de retraite des CAAT est capitalisé à hauteur de 120 % et dispose d’une réserve de capitalisation de 2,6 milliards de dollars. Cela signifie que pour chaque dollar de pension que nous avons promis de verser, nous avons mis en réserve 1,20 $.

Visitez le site Web du Régime de retraite des CAAT pour apprendre comment une bonne gouvernance et une expertise en placements contribuent à un rendement solide.

Avec sa conception durable, son processus de gouvernance robuste basé sur des principes fiduciaires et son programme de placements équilibré, le Régime de retraite des CAAT est vraiment un régime de retraite professionnel efficace pour le XXIe siècle. La capacité du Régime des CAAT à s’adapter à des circonstances changeantes place ses participants en très bonne position.

Keith Ambachtsheer, Président, KPA Advisory Services Ltd. Directeur émérite, Rotman International Centre for Pension Management, Université de Toronto
The french CAAT logo

Régime de retraite des CAAT

Établi en 1967, le Régime de retraite des CAAT offre plusieurs types de régimes de retraite à prestations déterminées. Le Régime est ouvert aux adhésions provenant d'organisations du secteur public élargi, privé et à but non lucratif. Le Régime des CAAT est entièrement capitalisé et doté d'actifs de 10,8 milliards de dollars. Il offre une rente viagère à 46 000 participants et offre les avantages d'un régime à prestations déterminées à 51 employeurs participants.

Contact Us Image

Vous voulez en apprendre davantage?

Si vous représentez un employeur ou un groupe intéressé et que vous souhaitez nous parler, contactez directement le Régime de retraite des CAAT.