Skip to the content

Funding Policy

The CAAT Funding Policy was built upon the Plan’s fundamental principles of paying both promised and conditional benefits, and its commitment to equity across the entire membership and from generation to generation.

The CAAT Pension Plan Funding Policy defines six levels of Plan financial health and sets guidelines for the Plan governors to use reserves and conditional benefits to manage through periods of volatility, to keep the Plan sustainable over the long term to secure benefits while balancing fairness across the membership.

Each filed actuarial funding valuation determines the Plan’s funded status and accordingly where the Plan sits within the levels of the Funding Policy. The chart below shows the options available at each funding level.

Funding Policy at a glance

Read the full Funding Policy

Revised effective June 1, 2018

There are six funding levels that help the Plan maintain a long-term focus and achieve its key strategic goals of benefit security and equity.

At Level 1

If the Plan has a deficit after using all reserves and contributions being paid by active members, the Plan would not pay post-retirement conditional inflation protection to retired and deferred members and will not pay pre-retirement benefit increases to active members. The Plan will also temporarily remove any early retirement subsidies. The Plan may consider reductions to future benefits by reducing the lifetime annual pension factor below 8.5%. 

At Level 2

With the contributions being paid by active members and the Plan’s funding reserves being fully used, the funding level exceeds provincial minimums, meaning the Plan has a small surplus. The Plan will provide the current year of conditional inflation protection increases to retired and deferred members and would restore the annual pension factor to 8.5% for future benefits while considering restoring any prior pension factor reductions in previous years (if any). The subsidized early retirement reduction rate will be set at 5%. Pre-retirement benefit increases for active members will not be made. 

At Level 3

The Plan will apply conditional inflation protection increases for retired and deferred members for the current period plus make additional increases for past years of inflation rate increases missed (if any). Pre-retirement benefit increases for active members will be applied. The subsidized early retirement reduction rate will be 5% and the lifetime annual pension factor will be 8.5%. Surplus funds over provincial minimums will also be allocated into funding reserves to withstand up to a 0.5% reduction in the discount rate.

At Level 4

The Plan will pay current period pre-retirement benefit increases to active members and consider providing increases for past years of pre-retirement benefit increases that were missed (if any). The lifetime annual pension factor will be 8.5%. In addition, the Plan will consider early retirement reduction factors of 3%, 4%, or 5%. Post-retirement conditional inflation protection will be applied and surplus funds over provincial minimums will be allocated into reserves to withstand up to a 1% reduction in the discount rate and build reserves to fund future conditional inflation increases.

At Level 5

Pre-retirement benefit increases for active members and post-retirement conditional inflation protection for retired and deferred members will be applied, while the early retirement reduction factor will be 3%. The Plan will consider a lifetime annual pension factor to a rate of 8.5% or 9.5%. The Plan has the reserves required to fund future conditional inflation protection increases and can withstand a 1% reduction in the discount rate. Additional funding reserves are being built to withstand up to a 7.5% increase in liabilities as an additional cushion for securing promised benefits.

At Level 6

Full funding reserves have been built. The lifetime pension factor is at least 9.5%. Conditional inflation protection for retired and deferred members and pre-retirement increases for active members will be made. The Plan has sufficient surplus to consider any combination of the following changes:

  • Provide post-retirement inflation protection increases above 75% of CPI
  • Increase the lifetime annual pension factor beyond 9.5%
  • Improve other benefits on an ad hoc basis

 

Contact Us Image

Interested in bringing DBplus to your workplace?

Skip to the content

Politique de financement

La Politique de financement du Régime des CAAT s’appuie sur les principes fondamentaux du Régime, à savoir le versement des prestations garanties et conditionnelles, ainsi que l’engagement à traiter équitablement les différents groupes et générations.

La Politique de financement du Régime de retraite des CAAT définit les six niveaux de santé financière de la Caisse et établit des lignes directrices à l’usage des dirigeants du Régime pour ce qui est de l’utilisation des réserves et du versement de prestations conditionnelles. Ces lignes directrices servent au Régime à mieux résister aux périodes d’instabilité économique et à maintenir sa viabilité à long terme – ce qui renforce la sécurité des prestations et l’équité entre les participants.

Chaque évaluation actuarielle déposée permet de déterminer le taux de capitalisation du Régime et de savoir à quel niveau il se situe, selon la Politique de financement. Le tableau ci-dessous indique ce qui est offert à chaque niveau de capitalisation.

Lire la version intégrale de la Politique de financement

Politique de financement en vigueur le 1er juin 2018.

Il existe six niveaux de financement qui permettent au Régime de maintenir une orientation à long terme et d’atteindre ses objectifs stratégiques clés en matière de sécurité des prestations et d’équité.

Au niveau 1

Si le Régime accuse un déficit après avoir utilisé toutes les réserves et les cotisations payées par les participants actifs, il ne paiera pas la protection conditionnelle contre l’inflation après la retraite aux participants retraités et différés. Le Régime n’appliquera aucune augmentation de la rente avant la retraite aux participants actifs. Le Régime supprimera aussi temporairement toute subvention de retraite anticipée. Le Régime peut envisager de réduire les prestations futures en rapportant le facteur de retraite annuel au-dessous de 8,5 %. 

Au niveau 2

Les cotisations par les participants actifs et les réserves de financement du Régime étant entièrement utilisées, le niveau de financement dépasse les minimums provinciaux, ce qui signifie que le Régime affiche un léger excédent. Le Régime assurera la protection actuelle contre l’inflation de la période actuelle aux participants retraités ainsi qu’aux participants ayant droit à une rente différée. Le régime rapportera le facteur de retraite annuel à 8,5 % pour les prestations futures tout en envisageant de rétablir toute réduction antérieure du facteur de retraite des années précédentes (le cas échéant). Le taux de réduction des retraites anticipées subventionnées sera fixé à 5 %. Aucune augmentation de la rente avant la retraite pour les participants actifs ne sera appliquée. 

Au niveau 3

Le Régime offrira des augmentations au titre de la protection contre l’inflation aux participants retraités et aux participants ayant droit à une rente différée, ainsi que des augmentations supplémentaires pour les années antérieures d’inflation non payées (le cas échéant). Des augmentations de la rente avant la retraite pour les participants actifs seront appliquées. Le taux de réduction pour retraite anticipée subventionnée sera de 5 % et le facteur de retraite annuel à vie sera de 8,5 %. Des fonds en excédent des minimums provinciaux seront affectés aux réserves de financement afin de résister à un changement jusqu’à 0,5 % du taux d’escompte.

Au niveau 4

Le Régime appliquera les augmentations de la rente avant la retraite pour la période en cours aux participants actifs et envisagera de prévoir des augmentations pour les années précédentes d’augmentations de la rente avant la retraite qui ont été manquées (le cas échéant). Le facteur de retraite annuel à vie sera de 8,5 %. De plus, le Régime envisagera d’adopter des facteurs de réduction de retraite anticipée de 3 %, 4 % ou 5 %. Une protection conditionnelle contre l’inflation après la retraite sera appliquée et les fonds excédentaires dépassant les minimums provinciaux seront alloués aux réserves afin de résister à une réduction pouvant atteindre 1 % du taux d’escompte et de constituer des réserves afin de financer les augmentations conditionnelles au titre de protection contre l’inflation.

Au niveau 5

Le Régime appliquera les augmentations de la rente avant la retraite aux participants actifs ainsi que des augmentations au titre de protection contre l’inflation aux participants retraités et aux participants ayant droit à une rente différée. Le facteur de réduction pour retraite anticipée sera de 3 %. Le Régime envisagera un facteur de retraite annuel de 8,5 % à 9,5 %. Le Régime a les réserves nécessaires pour financer les augmentations futures au titre de protection contre l’inflation et pour résister à un changement de 1 % du taux d’escompte. Des réserves supplémentaires sont constituées afin de résister à une hausse allant jusqu’à 7,5 % des passifs comme coussin supplémentaire afin de garantir les prestations promises.

Au niveau 6

Toutes les réserves ont été constituées. Le facteur de retraite annuel à vie est d’au moins 9,5 %. La protection conditionnelle contre l’inflation et les augmentations de la rente avant la retraite seront versées aux participants retraités ainsi qu’aux participants ayant droit à une rente différée. Le Régime a un excédent suffisant pour songer à apporter les changements suivants :

  • verser une augmentation de la rente à titre de protection contre l’inflation après la retraite supérieure à 75 % de l’IPC;
  • augmenter le facteur de retraite annuel à vie au-delà de 9,5 %;
  • augmenter les autres prestations sur une base ponctuelle.
Contact Us Image

Vous aimeriez faire venir DBplus à votre travail?