Skip to the content

Upgrading from a defined contribution (DC) pension plan

If your workplace currently offers a DC plan, the transition to DBplus – to offer employees a valuable and secure defined benefit pension, for a fixed contribution rate – is seamless and efficient.

The process to join can take as little as a few months. Following approval of the employer’s application, employees begin to build valuable lifetime pensions from the point contributions begin. They also have the individual option to purchase additional pension in DBplus using their funds in the DC plan.

1. Contact us for information

CAAT answers your questions about the plan design and easy steps to joining. You only need to consider two options: when to start contributing and how much you want to pay. If your organization is interested in proceeding to the next step, a non-disclosure agreement is signed and non-identifying employee data is supplied to CAAT for preliminary analysis.

2. Document the details

Review and document the details in a Participation Agreement and New Employer Application, subject to due diligence activities. For CAAT this includes a detailed demographic analysis and risk assessments. Alignment of key stakeholders is confirmed in a Participation Agreement that forms part of the employer’s application to join the Plan. The Participation Agreement is signed following approval by CAAT.

3. Confirm support for participation

CAAT can help inform employees, including holding information sessions and providing website tools and a helpline.

4. Onboarding and administration

CAAT takes on administration. Employees enrol, contributions begin, and pension purchase information sessions are held with employees. We work with you to ensure a smooth transition.

5. Wind up DC plan

If necessary, employer works with DC pension plan provider to wind up the DC plan and assists member balance transfers to CAAT.


See the process at a glance

Contact Us Image

Interested in bringing DBplus to your workplace?

Skip to the content

Passer à DBplus à partir d’un régime à cotisations déterminées (CD)

Si un régime à cotisations déterminées (CD) est offert là où vous travaillez, la transition à DBplus – pour offrir aux employés une pension à prestations déterminées sure et avantageuse – est transparente et efficace, et peut ne prendre que quelques mois.

Dès l’approbation de la demande de l’employeur, les employés commenceront à cotiser et à se constituer une précieuse pension viagère. Ils auront également l’option d’acheter des rentes supplémentaires au titre de DBplus à l’aide des fonds dans leur régime CD.

1. D’abord, renseignez-vous auprès de nous

Le Régime des CAAT répondra à vos questions sur la conception du Régime et vous donnera un survol des étapes d’adhésion. Vous n’avez qu’à choisir entre deux options : quand commenceront les cotisations et le montant que vous aimeriez y affecter à chaque paie. Si votre société souhaite passer à la prochaine étape, le Régime des CAAT vous demandera de signer une entente de non-divulgation et de fournir des données à caractère non nominatif sur vos employés pour que nous réalisions des analyses préliminaires.

2. Par la suite, documentez les détails

Nous mettrons le tout par écrit dans un accord de participation et dans une demande de nouvel employeur, que nous réviserons soigneusement. Toutes les parties feront preuve de diligence raisonnable; pour le Régime des CAAT, cela inclura une analyse démographique approfondie et une évaluation des risques. La coordination des parties prenantes sera confirmée dans l’accord de participation, qui fera partie de la demande formelle d’adhésion de la part de l’employeur et qui sera signée moyennant l’approbation du Régime des CAAT.

3. Confirmation du soutien à la participation

Le Régime des CAAT peut vous aider à informer vos employés des avantages – entre autres, à l’aide de séances informatives, d’outils en ligne et d’un service d’assistance téléphonique.

4. Processus d’accueil et administration

Le Régime des CAAT se charge de l’administration. Les employés s’inscrivent, les cotisations commencent et des séances de formation sur les rachats de rente se tiennent. Nous travaillerons de concert avec vous du début à la fin pour assurer une transition sans anicroche.

5. Liquidation du régime CD

S’il est nécessaire, l’employeur collabore avec le fournisseur du régime CD pour liquider ce dernier et pour aider avec les transferts de soldes vers le Régime des CAAT.


Voir un aperçu des étapes

Pas votre situation? Choisissez l’une des options ci-dessous :

Contact Us Image

Vous aimeriez faire venir DBplus à votre travail?