Skip to the content

Portability

Whether you are joining CAAT or leaving your job with a CAAT employer, the Plan’s portability options help you to build a bigger pension.

Leaving your job doesn’t mean giving up your valuable CAAT pension.

If you are not yet eligible, or not yet ready to start your pension, the Plan’s termination options provide both flexibility and security so you can make the best choice for your retirement income.

Automatic portability among CAAT employers

If you go to work for another employer that participates in the CAAT Pension Plan, you will continue to contribute and build your pension in your new job.

Transferring to another employer’s pension plan

If you go to work for an employer that offers a different Canadian registered pension plan than CAAT, you can transfer your CAAT pension to your new employer’s plan, provided that plan will accept the transfer and you are under age 65.

24-month extension of membership keeps portability options open

If you leave your job and don’t go to work for a CAAT Plan employer, you will stop accruing a pension, but your Plan membership will be automatically extended for 24 months from the date of your last contribution to the Plan. During this ‘extension of membership,’ your pension will continue to grow with annual increases based on the Average Industrial Wage index, a measurement of wage increases across Canada. During the extension of membership, you have portability options to move your pension to another pension plan if you start a new job.

At the end of the 24-month extension of membership period, the following options become available to you, in addition to those offered during the extension of membership period. Your age is a factor in determining the options available to you, as outlined below.

The option to choose a secure, lifetime pension

By deferring your pension, you leave it in the CAAT Plan until you reach retirement age and are ready to start collecting it. The deferred pension includes all the benefits of a regular pension plus the following valuable features:

  • The option to begin your pension as early as age 50 (with an early start adjustment).
  • During the deferral period, your pension continues to grow with conditional inflation protection increases.
  • Inflation protection increases also apply when you start collecting your pension.
  • A lifetime survivor pension for your eligible spouse on your death.

The option to transfer the commuted value

The commuted value is the amount of money that would have to be invested today, based on current interest rates, to be equivalent in today’s dollars to your future pension stream.

You must be under age 50 to choose the commuted value option. If you are under 50 at the end of your 24-month extension of membership, you have six months to choose to transfer the commuted value of your benefit out of the Plan into a locked-in retirement account. If you do not choose to transfer the commuted value, you will remain entitled to a deferred pension.

Commuted value funds must remain locked-in and they must be used for retirement income starting at age 55 at the earliest. If you take the commuted value out of the Plan, you have no further entitlement from the CAAT Plan and will be responsible for investing the funds yourself.

If your pension benefits are subject to federal jurisdiction, your spouse must provide consent prior to a commuted value transfer, in accordance with the applicable legislation.

The Income Tax Act (ITA) places a limit on the amount of commuted value that you can transfer directly to a locked-in account. If you choose this option and the ITA limit applies, you can take the excess in a lump sum which is taxed at your current marginal tax rate. If the withholding tax is too low, you will be assessed additional tax payments when you file your income tax for the year of the transfer.

Consolidate your pension

If you worked for an employer that does not participate in the CAAT Pension Plan, but that had a Canadian registered pension plan that you participated in, you may be able to make a purchase in respect of that membership, as long as the funds are in a registered retirement savings account, such as an RRSP.

The option of leaving your accrued benefits in the CAAT Plan as a deferred pension gives you the security of a future lifetime pension with inflation protection and survivor benefits.

Estimate a DBplus Pension

Get a quick and easy estimate of how much lifetime retirement income members will get from contributions to DBplus.

Contact Us Image

Interested in bringing DBplus to your workplace?

Skip to the content

Transférabilité

Que vous vous joignez au Régime des CAAT ou quittiez votre travail chez un employeur participant, les options de transférabilité du Régime vous permettent de vous constituer une plus grande pension.

Le fait de quitter votre emploi ne signifie pas renoncer à votre précieuse rente du Régime des CAAT.

Si vous n’êtes pas encore admissible, ou n’êtes pas encore prêt à prendre votre retraite, le Régime vous offre la flexibilité de nombreuses options sures pour optimiser votre revenu de retraite.

Transférabilité automatique entre employeurs participants

Si vous entrez au service d’un autre employeur participant au Régime de retraite des CAAT, vous continuerez de cotiser et d’acquérir de précieuses prestations à votre nouveau travail.

Transfert vers le régime de retraite d’un autre employeur

Si vous commencez à travailler pour un employeur qui offre un régime de retraite agréé canadien autre que celui des CAAT, vous pouvez transférer votre rente du Régime des CAAT vers cet autre régime de retraite, à condition que ce dernier le permette et que vous ayez moins de 65 ans.

Prolongation de la participation de 24 mois – maintenir la porte ouverte aux options de transférabilité

Si vous quittez votre emploi et ne retournez pas travailler auprès d’un employeur du Régime, vous cessez d’accumuler une rente, mais votre participation au Régime est prolongée automatiquement de 24 mois à compter de la date de votre dernière cotisation. Durant cette période de prolongation d’adhésion, votre rente continue de faire l’objet d’augmentations annuelles basées sur l’indice du salaire moyen dans l’industrie, une mesure de la hausse des salaires à l’échelle du Canada. Durant la prolongation de la participation, le Régime vous offre diverses options pour vous permettre de transférer votre rente vers le régime de retraite d’un autre employeur.

À la fin de la prolongation de la participation de 24 mois, vous avez accès aux options suivantes, en plus de celles qui vous sont offertes au cours de la période de prolongation. Elles sont fonction notamment votre âge, comme l’indique la section ci-dessous.

Choix d’une rente viagère garantie

En différant votre rente, vous maintenez vos droits dans le Régime des CAAT jusqu’à ce que vous atteignez l’âge de la retraite et êtes prêt à recevoir vos prestations. La rente différée comprend tous les avantages d’une rente normale, plus les avantages suivants :

  • Vous pouvez faire commencer le service de votre rente dès 50 ans (avec ajustement pour retraite anticipée).
  • Votre rente différée continuera de croitre chaque année grâce aux augmentations conditionnelles au titre de la protection contre l’inflation.
  • Les augmentations au titre de protection contre l’inflation s’appliquent également lorsque vous commencez à percevoir votre rente.
  • Une rente viagère de survivant est versée à votre conjoint advenant votre décès.

L’option de transférer la valeur de rachat de la rente

La valeur de rachat représente le montant que vous devriez investir aujourd’hui, d’après les taux d’intérêt en vigueur, pour couvrir vos rentes de retraite futures.

Vous devez avoir moins de 50 ans pour choisir l’option du transfert de la valeur de rachat. Si vous avez moins de 50 ans à la fin de la prolongation d’adhésion de 24 mois, vous disposez de six mois pour transférer la valeur de rachat de votre rente vers un compte de retraite immobilisé (CRI) ou un autre régime immobilisé. Si vous n’optez pas pour le transfert de la valeur de rachat, vous garderez votre droit à une rente différée.

La valeur ainsi transférée doit rester immobilisée et servir à vous procurer un revenu de retraite auquel vous aurez accès à partir de vos 55 ans. Si vous transférez la valeur de rachat, vous n’aurez plus aucun droit à faire valoir au Régime et vous devrez placer les fonds vous-même.

La Loi de l’impôt sur le revenu (LIR) limite le montant de la valeur de rachat que vous pouvez transférer directement dans un compte immobilisé. Si vous choisissez cette option et la limite de la LIR s’applique, vous pouvez recevoir le surplus en une somme forfaitaire, imposable selon votre taux marginal actuel. Si l’impôt retenu est trop bas, des impôts supplémentaires pourraient vous être exigés après votre déclaration fiscale pour l’année du transfert.

Regrouper vos paiements de rente

Si vous participiez au régime de retraite agréé canadien d’un autre employeur, vous pourriez transférer à DBplus la rente ainsi accumulée. Les fonds que vous employez pour le rachat de cette période de cotisation doivent provenir d’un instrument d’épargne-retraite enregistré tel qu’un REER ou un CRIF.

L’option de laisser vos droits à retraite avec le Régime des CAAT à titre de rente différée vous assure une rente viagère à l’avenir dotée de protection contre l’inflation et de prestations de survivant.

Mettez l'outil de valeur DBplus à l'essai

Obtenez une estimation rapide et facile des revenus de retraite viagers qu’obtiendront les participants en cotisant à DBplus.

Contact Us Image

Vous aimeriez faire venir DBplus à votre travail?