Skip to the content

Employer responsibilities

DBplus is designed to minimize administrative work for participating employers. There are, however, certain responsibilities that must be carried out by employers.

Generally, full-time employees in the organization or group are enrolled in the Plan upon hire. Those who work part time must be notified upon hire and contract renewal that they have the option to enrol in the Plan at any time. CAAT provides employers with language for letters of offer and contracts to explain the eligibility rules to new hires. Employers provide CAAT with a monthly file listing part-time employees who have not enrolled in the Plan. CAAT sends notices to these non-members, advising them of their option to join going forward. 

Employers deduct employee contributions from T4 earnings, at the selected fixed rate, add their contributions, and remit to CAAT using electronic funds transfer. Contributions are due by the 5th business day of the month following deduction to avoid being charged interest.

Under tax law, members of registered pension plans (RPPs) receive a Pension Adjustment (PA), reported on their T4 slip, that reduces their RRSP room. For DB plans, the reduction reflects the value of pension benefit they accrued in the RPP.

Using a spreadsheet supplied by CAAT, or using their own tool, the employer calculates the Pension Adjustment for each member of DBplus using this formula and reports it on the member’s T4:

  Member + Employer contributions X 8.5% X 9 - $600 = Pension Adjustment

Employers send CAAT a monthly list of all employees who have enrolled in the Plan, including their work email addresses so that CAAT may send the periodical member newsletter directly to these members. 

Employers report employee enrolments, employment changes that affect date of hire or enrolment, leaves of absence, and other member events during the year, using forms available in the employer administration manual. They also supply members with a form to update personal information.

Through the annual data collection process, due in March, employers use an online tool to report each individual member’s T4 earnings and contributions, any breaks in service (if not provided during the year), and the Pension Adjustment for the prior calendar year. If your organization is merging a defined benefit plan with CAAT, the Plan will work with you and any third-party administrators to collect any additional data that may be needed. 

CAAT provides data reconciliation training webinars each year.

Following validation of the annual data, CAAT generates personalized annual pension statements that are mailed directly to members in the spring.

Employers are required to make members aware of their options to purchase additional pension and transfer prior retirement savings into the Plan. CAAT shoulders most of the administration surrounding these transactions and offers resources to explain purchases and transfers to members, including group presentations, a booklet, and an online estimator. Where the member opts to make a purchase or transfer, the employer completes a form to supply earnings data and prior plan information for the applicable period(s) of employment.

On an ongoing basis, members have the right to purchase unpaid leaves of absence and, where prescribed by legislation, to make pension contributions for statutory leaves, in which cases the employer also contributes.

As part of CAAT’s onboarding process, your payroll and HR staff will be trained on the employer responsibilities. Following onboarding, CAAT delivers refreshers and updates on any new processes for employers via webinars that can be watched live or on demand.

Invite CAAT’s pension experts to deliver an educational presentation to your employees at least once per year. Feedback from these sessions shows they are highly effective at helping members understand the value of their pension benefit.

Each year, all participating employers are required to attest in writing that they have enrolled eligible employees, calculated and remitted the correct amount of contributions, distributed member information as required, and that their staff who perform pension administration have attended CAAT’s training sessions offered during the year. This is an important step in CAAT’s administrative compliance program.

Employer Manual

A detailed description of employer responsibilities and related forms can be found in the CAAT Pension Plan Employer Manual.

Help is only a phone call or email away

Our Employer Services team is here to help. Once your organization becomes a CAAT participating employer, as part of the onboarding process your organization will be assigned a Pension Analyst who is ready to answer your questions.

Portals will further reduce administrative work

CAAT is developing member and employer portals that will move more transactions online to save employers time and reduce risk.

Contact Us Image

Interested in bringing DBplus to your workplace?

Skip to the content

Responsabilités de l’employeur

Une des idées fondatrices de DBplus est d’alléger la charge administrative des employeurs participants. Ceux-ci doivent cependant assumer certaines responsabilités, comme le décrira la présente section.

Tous les employés à temps plein de la société ou du groupe participant doivent être inscrits au Régime dès leur embauche. Ceux qui travaillent à temps partiel doivent être informés à leur embauche ou au renouvèlement de leur contrat qu’ils ont l’option d’adhérer au Régime à tout moment. Le Régime des CAAT fournit aux employeurs des modèles à utiliser dans leurs lettres d’offre et contrats pour expliquer les conditions d’admissibilité aux nouvelles recrues. Les employeurs à leur tour donnent chaque mois au Régime des CAAT une liste des employés non participants, afin que le Régime leur envoie des avis pour qu’ils demeurent au fait de leurs options d’adhésion.

Les employeurs déduisent les cotisations des gains T4 de leurs employés au taux fixe convenu, versent leur propre cotisation et effectuent un virement électronique des fonds au Régime des CAAT. Les cotisations doivent être remises au plus tard le 5e jour ouvrable du mois suivant les retenues, sans quoi des intérêts seront exigibles.

En vertu des lois fiscales, un facteur d’équivalence (FE) est rapporté sur les feuillets T4 des participants aux régimes de pension agréés (RPA), ce qui réduit leurs droits de cotisation à un REER. Pour les régimes PD, la réduction est équivalente à la valeur des prestations de retraite accumulées dans le RPA.

À l’aide d’une feuille de calcul fournie par le Régime des CAAT ou de leur propre tableur, les employeurs calculent le facteur d’équivalence pour chaque participant DBplus avec la formule suivante :

Cotisation du participant + cotisation de l’employeur x 8,5 % x 9 – 600 $ = Facteur d’équivalence

Ils inscrivent enfin le facteur d’équivalence sur le feuillet T4 du participant.

Chaque mois, les employeurs transmettent au Régime des CAAT une liste de tous leurs employés qui participent au Régime, avec leur adresse courriel de travail. Ainsi, le Régime des CAAT leur envoie directement ses bulletins périodiques à l’intention des participants.

Les employeurs communiquent les nouvelles inscriptions au Régime ainsi que tout éventuel changement à la situation d’emploi qui puisse avoir une incidence sur la date d’embauche ou d’adhésion, les congés ou toute autre donnée sur le participant, à l’aide des formulaires disponibles dans le Manuel de l’employeur. Les employeurs fournissent également aux participants les formulaires pour mettre à jour leurs renseignements personnels.

Avec la collecte annuelle de données, qui sont à rendre en mars, les employeurs se servent d’un outil en ligne pour rapporter les gains T4 et les cotisations de chaque participant, ainsi que toute interruption de travail (si ce n’a pas déjà été fait au cours de l’année) et les facteurs d’équivalence pour l’année civile précédente. Si votre société fusionne son régime à prestations déterminées avec celui des CAAT, le Régime des CAAT collaborera avec vous et avec les administrateurs tiers pour le recueil de toute autre donnée restante.

Le Régime des CAAT donne des webinaires annuels de formation sur le rapprochement des données.

Après la validation annuelle des données, le Régime des CAAT produit des relevés de pension annuels qu’il envoie directement aux participants par la poste au printemps.

Les employeurs sont tenus de faire connaitre aux participants leurs options de rachat de rentes supplémentaires ou du transfert de leurs épargnes-retraite existantes vers le Régime. Le Régime des CAAT se charge de la plupart des points de la transaction et offre des ressources aux participants pour les éclairer sur les rachats et les transferts : séances de formation (présentielles et virtuelles), une brochure informative et une calculatrice en ligne. Là où un participant choisit de procéder à un rachat ou transfert, l’employeur remplit un formulaire des données sur les gains du participant et sur son ancien régime pour la (les) période(s) d’emploi applicable(s).

Dès leur adhésion au Régime des CAAT, les participants ont le droit de racheter tout éventuel congé non payé, et là où la loi le prévoit, de cotiser également pour des périodes de congé légal; dans ce dernier cas, l’employeur versera lui aussi une cotisation.

Comme partie du processus d’accueil du Régime des CAAT, vos services de paie et des ressources humaines recevront une formation sur leurs responsabilités d’employeur. Le Régime des CAAT offre également un service régulier de webinaires, en direct ou sur demande, qui serviront d’aide-mémoire et de remise à niveau sur tout nouveau processus que les employeurs auraient à connaitre.

Nous vous encourageons d’inviter les experts en retraites du Régime des CAAT sur vos lieux au moins une fois par année. Les rétroactions sur les séances de formation démontrent qu’elles aident énormément les participants à comprendre la valeur réelle de leur pension.

Chaque année, tous les employeurs participants doivent remettre une attestation écrite de l’adhésion des employés admissibles, des calculs et de la remise exacts des cotisations, de la diffusion des informations requises aux participants et que les membres du personnel qui administrent les retraites ont assisté aux séances de formation du Régime des CAAT au cours de l’année. L’attestation annuelle est une étape importante du programme de conformité administrative au Régime des CAAT.

Manuel de l’employeur

Une description détaillée des responsabilités qui incombent à l’employeur et les formulaires pertinents se trouvent dans le Manuel de l’employeur du Régime de retraite des CAAT (en anglais seulement).

Il suffit d’appeler ou d’envoyer un courriel pour obtenir de l’aide

Notre équipe des Services aux employeurs est à l’écoute. Pendant le processus d’accueil, on attribuera un analyste des pensions à votre société qui pourra répondre à vos questions.

Les portails en ligne réduiront davantage le travail administratif

Le Régime des CAAT met au point des portails pour les employeurs et les participants qui permettront plus de transactions en ligne, économisant ainsi plus de temps aux employeurs et améliorant la sécurité.

Contact Us Image

Vous aimeriez faire venir DBplus à votre travail?