Skip to the content

Joint governance adds value

Through their representatives on the Plan’s governing bodies – the Sponsors’ Committee and the Board of Trustees – members and employers have an equal say in and share the risks of Plan decisions. This joint governance structure is recognized as a model for success in keeping defined benefit pension plans sustainable.

The governors are appointed by the Plan sponsors: the College Employer Council on behalf of the college boards of governors, the Ontario College Administrative Staff Association (OCASA), and the Ontario Public Service Employees Union (OPSEU).

As a member of the Plan, you can be certain that your interests are well-represented, because both members and employers share equally in making the decisions that affect your benefit security.

Members of the Sponsors' Committee

The Sponsors’ Committee is an 8-member group, which approves Plan amendments and files actuarial valuations. Sponsors’ Committee members primarily represent the interests of the groups that appoint them. The Committee’s focus is determining how to best balance contribution rates and benefit design.

Brian Tamblyn

Mr. Brian Tamblyn – Appointed 2013
Co-Chair, Sponsors' Committee
Brian Tamblyn is an Employer representative (CEC-appointed). Mr. Tamblyn is a private practice management consultant. He retired from a 30-year career at Georgian College in 2012, where he was President and CEO for 13 years. His prior Georgian experience included Vice President roles in Human Resources, Student Services, and Community and Business Development. Mr. Tamblyn has a Masters of Education from the University of Toronto.

Riley Burton

Mr. Riley Burton – Appointed 2017
Riley Burton is an Employee representative (OCASA-appointed). He is Chair, School of Business, Hospitality and Media Arts at Confederation College. Mr. Burton was a member of the OCASA Board of Directors and sits on the Thunder Bay Chamber of Commerce Board of Directors. He has a Masters degree from Royal Roads University and is a certified Project Management Professional.  

Ross Gascho

Mr. Ross Gascho – Appointed 2017
Ross Gascho is an Employer representative (CEC-appointed). He is a Partner at Fasken Martineau, practising in pensions and employee benefits. Mr. Gascho is a member of numerous legal and pension organizations, including the Canadian Bar Association and the Ontario Bar Association Pension & Benefits Section. He previously sat on advisory committees for federal and provincial pension regulators. He has an LLB and an MBA from the University of Toronto.

Cheri Hearty

Ms. Cheri Hearty - Appointed 2019
Cheri Hearty is an Employee representative (OPSEU-appointed) with 20 years of experience in the pension and benefits industry. As a Benefits Officer for OPSEU, she assists members with questions about pensions and benefits, advocates for members, provides guidance to locals in bargaining, and advocates for the value of Defined Benefit pension plans. Ms. Hearty has served on a number of different pension plan and benefit boards of trustees.

Steve Hudson

Dr. Steve Hudson – Appointed 2014
Steve Hudson is an Employer representative (CEC-appointed). Dr. Hudson is Senior Vice-President, Academic and Learner Services at Niagara College. He previously held positions such as Vice-President Corporate Services as well as Senior Business Officer in a school board. Dr. Hudson has a Bachelor of Engineering from Royal Military College, as well as a Masters of Engineering, Masters of Business Administration and a doctorate in higher education from the University of Toronto.

 

Anne Sado

Ms. Anne Sado – Appointed 2017
Anne Sado is an Employer representative (CEC-appointed). She is President of George Brown College. Ms. Sado also sits on several boards including ORION, Polytechnics Canada, and the Toronto Region Board of Trade. She has a Bachelor of Applied Science in Engineering and an MBA from the University of Toronto. Ms. Sado was appointed a Member of the Order of Canada in 2013. 
 

Veneise Samuels

Ms. Veneise Samuels – Appointed 2018
Veneise Samuels is an Employee representative (OPSEU-appointed). She is a Student Success & Industry Liaison Officer at George Brown College. Ms. Samuels also serves as Second Vice President on the executive of OPSEU Local 557.

OPSEU-appointed Employee representative

Subcommittees of the Board

Equal representation and voting extends to these subcommittees of the Board of Trustees that make recommendations to the Board in particular areas of focus:

  • Appeals Subcommittee – hears member appeals of the interpretation of Plan rules.
  • Audit Committee – reviews the effectiveness of the organization in controlling and managing operational risk. It ensures the reliability of financial reporting and reviews the annual financial statements.
  • Finance and Administration Committee – is concerned with Plan design, funding and administration, legislation, litigation, and the appointment and evaluation of actuarial and legal advisors.
  • Governance Committee – assists the Board of Trustees in ensuring effective Board functioning and decision making as well as overseeing management of the CEO & Plan Manager.
  • Investment Committee – develops and recommends the Statement of Investment Policies and Procedures and related policies such as those concerning responsible investing and investments in derivatives.

CAAT Pension Plan documents and Funding Policy

Plan Text Restated as of January 1, 2018 and consolidated to January 1, 2020 (PDF) (Current)

2019 Valuation Report (PDF)

2019 Annual Report (PDF)

Funding Policy

The Funding Policy highlights the Plan’s long term focus of protecting promised benefits and minimizing contribution rate volatility, while recognizing the desire to achieve intergenerational equity. To deliver on these longer term goals while managing through short term volatility a blend of stability contributions, conditional benefits, and reserves are used.

Revised effective June 1, 2018

There are six funding levels that help the Plan maintain a long-term focus and achieve its key strategic goals of benefit security, contribution stability and intergenerational and inter-design equity. 

DBprime

If the Plan has a deficit after using all reserves and the 3% stability contributions being paid by active members, Ontario pension law would require stability contributions to be further increased temporarily and/or that benefits members build in future be reduced to eliminate a deficit. Conditional inflation protection would not be paid to retired and deferred members.

DBplus

If the Plan has a deficit after using all reserves and contributions being paid by active members, the Plan would not pay post-retirement conditional inflation protection to retired and deferred members and will not pay pre-retirement benefit increases to active members. The Plan will also temporarily remove any early retirement subsidies. The Plan may consider reductions to future benefits by reducing the lifetime annual pension factor below 8.5%. 

DBprime

With the 3% in stability contributions being paid by active members and the Plan’s funding reserves being fully used, the funding level exceeds provincial funding minimums, meaning the Plan has a small surplus. The Plan will provide the current period of conditional inflation protection increases to retired and deferred members.

DBplus

With the contributions being paid by active members and the Plan’s funding reserves being fully used, the funding level exceeds provincial minimums, meaning the Plan has a small surplus. The Plan will provide the current year of conditional inflation protection increases to retired and deferred members and would restore the annual pension factor to 8.5% for future benefits while considering restoring any prior pension factor reductions in previous years (if any). The subsidized early retirement reduction rate will be set at 5%. Pre-retirement benefit increases for active members will not be made. 

DBprime

Stability contributions of 3% are required from active members. The Plan will provide current period conditional inflation protection increases for retired and deferred member plus make additional increases for past years of conditional inflation rate increases missed (if any). Surplus funds over provincial minimums will also be allocated to funding reserves to withstand up to a 0.5% reduction in the discount rate.

DBplus

The Plan will apply conditional inflation protection increases for retired and deferred members for the current period plus make additional increases for past years of inflation rate increases missed (if any). Pre-retirement benefit increases for active members will be applied. The subsidized early retirement reduction rate will be 5% and the lifetime annual pension factor will be 8.5%. Surplus funds over provincial minimums will also be allocated into funding reserves to withstand up to a 0.5% reduction in the discount rate.

DBprime

Stability contributions of 1%, 2%, or 3% are required from active members. All periods of conditional inflation protection increases for retired and deferred members have been made. Surplus funds over provincial minimums will be allocated into reserves to withstand up to a 1% reduction in the discount rate and build reserves to fund future conditional inflation increases for retired and deferred members.

DBplus

The Plan will pay current period pre-retirement benefit increases to active members and consider providing increases for past years of pre-retirement benefit increases that were missed (if any). The lifetime annual pension factor will be 8.5%. In addition, the Plan will consider early retirement reduction factors of 3%, 4%, or 5%. Post-retirement conditional inflation protection will be applied and surplus funds over provincial minimums will be allocated into reserves to withstand up to a 1% reduction in the discount rate and build reserves to fund future conditional inflation increases.

DBprime

Active members will be contributing stability contributions of 0% or 1%. The Plan has fully funded the reserves required to fund future conditional inflation protection increases and withstand a 1% reduction in the discount rate. Additional funding reserves are being built to withstand up to a 7.5% increase in liabilities as an additional cushion for securing promised benefits. 

DBplus

Pre-retirement benefit increases for active members and post-retirement conditional inflation protection for retired and deferred members will be applied, while the early retirement reduction factor will be 3%.The Plan will consider a lifetime annual pension factor to a rate of 8.5% or 9.5%. The Plan has the reserves required to fund future conditional inflation protection increases and can withstand a 1% reduction in the discount rate. Additional funding reserves are being built to withstand up to a 7.5% increase in liabilities as an additional cushion for securing promised benefits.

DBprime

Full funding reserves have been built. Stability contribution rate is 0%. Conditional inflation protection for retired and deferred members will be paid. The Plan has sufficient surplus to consider any combination of the following changes:

  • Provide ad hoc inflation protection increases on the part of pensions not covered by conditional or guaranteed inflation protection
  • Allocate additional funds into reserves – up to the federal tax limit
  • Reduce contributions below basic contribution levels
  • Improve benefits.

DBplus

Full funding reserves have been built. The lifetime pension factor is at least 9.5%. Conditional inflation protection for retired and deferred members and pre-retirement increases for active members will be made. The Plan has sufficient surplus to consider any combination of the following changes:

  • Provide post-retirement inflation protection increases above 75% of CPI
  • Increase the lifetime annual pension factor beyond 9.5%
  • Improve other benefits on an ad hoc basis.
Contact Us Image

Questions? Contact Us

The CAAT Plan's member services team are available to answer any questions you may have.

Skip to the content

La gouvernance paritaire ajoute de la valeur

Puisque le Régime de retraite des CAAT est un régime conjoint, les participants et les employeurs participent sur un pied d’égalité à la prise de décisions et partagent les risques par l’entremise de leurs représentants siégeant aux deux organes décisionnels du Régime, à savoir le Conseil des fiduciaires et le Comité de parrainage. Cette structure de gouvernance paritaire est considérée comme un modèle pour la pérennité des régimes de retraite à prestations déterminées.

Les dirigeants sont nommés par les promoteurs du Régime : le Conseil des employeurs des collèges, au nom des conseils d’administration des collèges, l’Association du personnel administratif des collèges de l’Ontario (APACO) et le Syndicat des employées et employés de la fonction publique de l’Ontario (SEFPO).

À titre de participant au Régime, vous pouvez être certain que vos intérêts sont bien pris en compte, car les participants et les employeurs prennent ensemble les décisions qui influent sur la sécurité de vos prestations.

Composition actuelle du Comité de parrainage

Le Comité de parrainage est constitué de huit membres chargés d’approuver les modifications du texte du Régime et de produire les évaluations actuarielles. Les membres du Comité de parrainage représentent en premier lieu les intérêts du groupe qui les nomme. La priorité du Comité est de trouver l’équilibre entre les taux de cotisation et la structure des prestations.

Brian Tamblyn

Brian Tamblyn – Nommé en 2013
Coprésident du Comité de parrainage
Brian Tamblyn est un représentant des employés (nommé par le Conseil des employeurs des Collèges). M. Tamblyn est un conseiller administratif en pratique privée. Après 30 ans de carrière auprès du Collège Georgian dont 13 ans à titre de président et directeur général, M. Tamblyn a pris sa retraite en 2012. Durant son parcours professionnel; il a assumé plusieurs responsabilités au Collège Georgian, dont vice-président des ressources humaines, des services aux étudiants et de développement des communautés et des entreprises. M. Tamblyn est titulaire d'une maitrise en éducation de l'Université de Toronto.

Riley Burton

Riley Burton – Nommé en 2017
Riley Burton est un représentant des employés (nommé par l’APACO). Il est président de l’école d’administration des affaires, de l’hôtellerie et des arts médiatiques du Collège Confédération.  M. Burton a siégé au conseil d’administration de l’Association du personnel administratif des collèges de l’Ontario, et il est membre du conseil d’administration de la Chambre de commerce de Thunder Bay. Il est titulaire d'une maitrise de l’université Royal Roads et il est un professionnel certifié en gestion de projets.

Ross Gascho

Ross Gascho – Nommé en 2017
Ross Gascho est un représentant des employeurs (nommée par le Conseil des employeurs des Collèges). Il est associé chez Fasken Martineau où il pratique dans le domaine des régimes d’avantages sociaux et de retraite. M. Gascho est membre de nombreux associations juridiques et organisation de régimes de retraite, notamment de l’Association du Barreau canadien, de la Section du droit des régimes de retraite et des avantages sociaux de l’Association du Barreau de l’Ontario. Il a siégé à des comités consultatifs pour les organismes de réglementation fédéraux et provinciaux. Il est titulaire d’un baccalauréat en droit et d’une maitrise en administration des affaires à l’Université de Toronto.

Cheri Hearty

Cheri Hearty - Nommé en 2019
Cheri Hearty est représentante des employés (nommée par le SEFPO) comptant 20 ans d'expérience dans le secteur des retraites et des avantages sociaux. En tant qu'agente des avantages sociaux pour le SEFPO, elle répond aux questions des participants concernant les pensions et les avantages sociaux, elle défend les intérêts des participants, elle guide les sections locales dans leurs négociations et défend la valeur des régimes de retraite à prestations déterminées. Mme Hearty a siégé à différents conseils d'administration de régimes de retraite et d'avantages sociaux.

Steve Hudson

Steve Hudson  Nommé en 2014 
Steve Hudson est un représentant des employeurs (nommé par le Conseil des employeurs des Collèges). M. Hudson est vice-recteur principal à l'enseignement au Collège Niagara. Il a occupé plusieurs postes tels que vice-président des services aux entreprises et administrateur principal du conseil scolaire. M. Hudson est titulaire d'un baccalauréat en ingénierie du Collège Militaire Royal; d’une maitrise en génie, d’une maitrise en administration des affaires et d’un doctorat en enseignement supérieur de l'Université de Toronto.

Anne Sado

Anne Sado – Nommée en 2017
Anne Sado est une représentante des employés (nommée par le Conseil des employeurs des Collèges). Elle est présidente du Collège George Brown. Mme Sado est également présidente du conseil d’administration d’ORION, Polytechnics Canada et de la Toronto Region Board of Trade. Elle est titulaire d’un baccalauréat en génie et d’une maitrise en administration des affaires de l’université de Toronto. Mme Sado a été nommée membre de l’Ordre du Canada en 2013.

Veneise Samuels

Veneise Samuels – Nommée en 2018
Veneise Samuels est une représentante des employés (nommé par le SEFPO). Elle occupe le poste d’agente de liaison pour le succès des étudiants au collège George Brown. Mme Samuels est également deuxième vice-présidente du conseil exécutif de la section locale 557 du SEFPO

représentant des employés nommé par le SEFPO

Les sous-comités du Conseil des fiduciaires

Cette égalité représentative et délibérative se retrouve également au sein des sous-comités du Conseil des fiduciaires dont le rôle consiste à formuler des recommandations à l’intention du Conseil sur des questions précises :

  • Sous-comité des appels : entend les appels des participants relativement à l’interprétation des règlements du Régime.
  • Comité d’audit : évalue l’efficacité de l’organisme en matière de contrôle et de gestion des risques opérationnels. Il veille à la fiabilité des déclarations financières et examine les états financiers annuels. Il recommande la nomination de l’auditeur externe et reçoit le rapport de celui-ci. De plus, le comité assure la mise en oeuvre des politiques sur la protection des dénonciateurs destinées aux membres du Conseil et au personnel du Régime. Il peut retenir les services d’un avocat qui le conseillera ou l’aidera lors de la tenue d’une enquête.
  • Comité des finances et de l’administration : s’occupe de la structure, du financement et de l’administration du Régime, des lois, des litiges concernant le Régime, ainsi que de la nomination et de l’évaluation des conseillers actuariels et des avocats-conseils. Le comité assure également la supervision des systèmes d’information, et passe en revue les activités, les projets, et les budgets d’immobilisations du Régime.
  • Comité de gestion : assure le fonctionnement et la prise de décisions efficaces du Conseil des fiduciaires et supervise les activités du chef de la direction et gestionnaire du Régime.
  • Comité du portefeuille : élabore et recommande l’Énoncé des politiques et des procédures de placement et les politiques connexes, notamment celles qui concernent l’investissement responsable et les placements dans des instruments dérivés. Il est également chargé de l’examen de la conformité aux politiques de placement et du rendement des investissements du Régime. Enfin, il formule des recommandations sur la nomination du dépositaire de la caisse de retraite.

Documents du Régime des CAAT et Politique de financement

Le texte du Régime reformulé au 1er janvier 2018 et consolidé au 1er juin 2020 (PDF) (texte actuel, en anglais seulement)

Rapport d’évaluation de 2019 (PDF, en anglais seulement)

Rapport annuel 2019 (PDF)

Politique de financement

La politique de financement souligne l’accent à long terme du Régime mis sur la protection des prestations promises et sur la réduction de la volatilité des taux de cotisation, tout en tenant compte du désir d’équité intergénérationnelle. Afin d’atteindre des objectifs à long terme tout en gérant la volatilité à court terme, on a recours à une combinaison de cotisations stables, de prestations conditionnelles et de réserves.

Politique de financement en vigueur le 1er juin 2018.

Il existe six niveaux de financement qui permettent au Régime de maintenir une orientation à long terme et d’atteindre ses objectifs stratégiques clés en matière de sécurité des prestations, de stabilité des cotisations et d’équité intergénérationnelle et intersectorielle.

DBprime

Si le Régime accuse un déficit après avoir utilisé toutes les réserves et les cotisations aux fins de stabilité de 3 % payées par les participants actifs, la Loi sur les régimes de retraite de l’Ontario exigerait une hausse temporaire des cotisations de stabilité et/ou une réduction des prestations futures des participants afin d’éliminer le déficit. Une protection conditionnelle contre l’inflation ne serait pas versée aux participants retraités ni aux participants ayant droit à une rente différée.

DBplus

Si le Régime accuse un déficit après avoir utilisé toutes les réserves et les cotisations payées par les participants actifs, il ne paiera pas la protection conditionnelle contre l’inflation conditionnelle après la retraite aux participants retraités et différés. Le Régime n’appliquera aucune augmentation de la rente avant la retraite aux participants actifs. Le Régime supprimera aussi temporairement toute subvention de retraite anticipée. Le Régime peut envisager de réduire les prestations futures en rapportant le facteur de retraite annuel au-dessous de 8,5 %.

DBprime

Les taux de cotisation aux fins de stabilité de 3 % étant versés par les participants actifs et les réserves de financement du Régime étant entièrement utilisées, le niveau de financement dépasse les minimums provinciaux, ce qui signifie que le Régime affiche un léger excédent. Le Régime assurera la protection actuelle contre l’inflation de la période actuelle aux participants retraités ainsi qu’aux participants ayant droit à une rente différée.

DBplus

Les cotisations par les participants actifs et les réserves de financement du Régime étant entièrement utilisées, le niveau de financement dépasse les minimums provinciaux, ce qui signifie que le Régime affiche un léger excédent. Le Régime assurera la protection actuelle contre l’inflation de la période actuelle aux participants retraités ainsi qu’aux participants ayant droit à une rente différée. Le régime rapportera le facteur de retraite annuel à 8,5 % pour les prestations futures tout en envisageant de rétablir toute réduction antérieure du facteur de retraite des années précédentes (le cas échéant). Le taux de réduction des retraites anticipées subventionnées sera fixé à 5 %. Aucune augmentation de la rente avant la retraite pour les participants actifs ne sera appliquée.

DBprime

Les participants actifs doivent payer des taux de cotisation aux fins de stabilité de 3 %. Le Régime offrira des hausses au titre de la période d’inflation actuelle et des hausses supplémentaires pour les années antérieures d’inflation non payées (le cas échéant). Des fonds en excédent des minimums provinciaux seront affectés aux réserves de financement afin de résister à un changement jusqu’à 0,5 % du taux d’escompte.

DBplus

Le Régime offrira des augmentations au titre de la protection contre l’inflation aux participants retraités et aux participants ayant droit à une rente différée, ainsi que des augmentations supplémentaires pour les années antérieures d’inflation non payées (le cas échéant). Des augmentations de la rente avant la retraite pour les participants actifs seront appliquées. Le taux de réduction pour retraite anticipée subventionnée sera de 5 % et le facteur de retraite annuel à vie sera de 8,5 %. Des fonds en excédent des minimums provinciaux seront affectés aux réserves de financement afin de résister à un changement jusqu’à 0,5 % du taux d’escompte.

DBprime

Le taux de cotisation aux fins de stabilité devant être versé par les participants actifs s’établit à 1 %, 2 % ou 3 %. Toutes les hausses relatives à la protection contre l’inflation ont été apportées aux rentes des participants retraités et aux participants ayant droit à une rente différée. Des fonds en excédent des minimums provinciaux seront également affectés aux réserves afin de résister à un changement jusqu’à 1 % du taux d’escompte et de constituer des réserves afin de financer les hausses d’inflation futures pour les participants retraités et les participants ayant droit à une rente différée.

DBplus

Le Régime appliquera les augmentations de la rente avant la retraite pour la période en cours aux participants actifs et envisagera de prévoir des augmentations pour les années précédentes d’augmentations de la rente avant la retraite qui ont été manquées (le cas échéant). Le facteur de retraite annuel à vie sera de 8,5 %. De plus, le Régime envisagera d’adopter des facteurs de réduction de retraite anticipée de 3 %, 4 % ou 5 %. Une protection conditionnelle contre l’inflation après la retraite sera appliquée et les fonds excédentaires dépassant les minimums provinciaux seront alloués aux réserves afin de résister à une réduction pouvant atteindre 1 % du taux d’escompte et de constituer des réserves afin de financer les hausses conditionnelles au titre de protection contre l’inflation.

DBprime

Les participants actifs verseront des cotisations aux fins de stabilité de 0 % ou 1 %. Le Régime a les réserves nécessaires pour financer les augmentations futures au titre de protection contre l’inflation et pour résister à un changement de 1 % du taux d’escompte. Des réserves supplémentaires sont constituées afin de résister à une hausse allant jusqu’à 7,5 % des passifs comme coussin supplémentaire afin de garantir les prestations promises.

DBplus

Le Régime appliquera les augmentations de la rente avant la retraite aux participants actifs ainsi que des augmentations au titre de protection contre l’inflation aux participants retraités et aux participants ayant droit à une rente différée. Le facteur de réduction pour retraite anticipée sera de 3 %. Le Régime envisagera un facteur de retraite annuel de 8,5 % à 9,5 %. Le Régime a les réserves nécessaires pour financer les augmentations futures au titre de protection contre l’inflation et pour résister à un changement de 1 % du taux d’escompte. Des réserves supplémentaires sont constituées afin de résister à une hausse allant jusqu’à 7,5 % des passifs comme coussin supplémentaire afin de garantir les prestations promises.

DBprime

Toutes les réserves ont été constituées. Les cotisations aux fins de stabilité se situent à 0 %. La protection conditionnelle contre l’inflation sera versée aux participants retraités ainsi qu’aux participants ayant droit à une rente différée. Le Régime a un excédent suffisant pour songer à apporter les changements suivants :

  • offrir une protection ponctuelle contre l’inflation sur la partie des rentes non couverte par la protection contre l’inflation garantie ou conditionnelle;
  • mettre des fonds supplémentaires dans les réserves – jusqu’à concurrence de la limite fiscale fédérale;
  • réduire les cotisations sous les niveaux de cotisation de base;
  • augmenter les prestations.

DBplus

Toutes les réserves ont été constituées. Le facteur de retraite annuel à vie est d’au moins 9,5 %. La protection conditionnelle contre l’inflation et les augmentations de la rente avant la retraite seront versées aux participants retraités ainsi qu’aux participants ayant droit à une rente différée. Le Régime a un excédent suffisant pour songer à apporter les changements suivants :

  • verser une augmentation de la rente à titre de protection contre l’inflation après la retraite supérieure à 75 % de l’IPC;
  • augmenter le facteur de retraite annuel à vie au-delà de 9,5 %;
  • augmenter les autres prestations sur une base ponctuelle.
Contact Us Image

Vous avez des questions? Contactez-nous

L'équipe des Services aux participants du Régime de retraite des CAAT est là pour répondre à vos questions.