Skip to the content

CAAT Pension Plan Members from The Canadian Press

Merger Update

The asset transfer is complete

The assets have transferred from The Canadian Press’s defined benefit pension plans to the CAAT Pension Plan. The Financial Services Regulatory Authority (FSRA) provided consent to the transfer of assets from The Canadian Press’s two defined benefit (DB) pension plans into the CAAT Pension Plan. The assets – totalling almost $100 million – were transferred to CAAT on December 27, 2019.

Now that all assets and liabilities have been transferred, CAAT assumes responsibility for all defined benefit pension payments to retired members of the CP plans, including those beneficiaries outside of Ontario.

Canadian Press plan members can expect to receive a communication with further details about their pension now that the assets have transferred. Should you have any questions, please email info@dbplus.ca.

How we got here

On June 28, 2019, an overwhelming 100% of The Canadian Press DB plan members voted in favour of merging with the CAAT Pension Plan. Members of all The Canadian Press’s employee pension plans – both its defined benefit (DB) and defined contribution (DC) plans – started contributing to, and earning a pension under, the CAAT Pension Plan’s DBplus plan design effective July 1, 2019. CAAT filed applications with the Financial Services Regulatory Authority (FSRA) for its consent to the transfer of assets from The Canadian Press pension DB plans to the CAAT Plan. On November 22, 2019, FSRA issued conditional Notices of Intended Decision for the merger of the CP plans into the CAAT Pension Plan. By issuing these notices, the Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of FSRA indicated an intention to consent to the pension-plan mergers following a standard 30-day period to facilitate any applicable requests to the Financial Services Tribunal. When the conditional Notices of Intended Decision for the merger were issued, they did not apply to Quebec beneficiaries; however, this was addressed separately, and 100% of The Canadian Press’s DB plans have transferred.

What is my DBplus contribution rate?

DBplus contributions are based on employment earnings and are matched dollar for dollar by The Canadian Press.

Effective date Employee contributions Employer contributions
July 1, 2019 7.0% 7.0%

Who do I contact if I have questions about my pension benefits or need to change my personal information?

Canadian Press member services at the CAAT Pension Plan
Toll Free: 1.800.893.3540
E-mail address: canadianpress@mercer.com

Details about your new CAAT pension

If you have a pension from any former Canadian Press DB plan, your total annual pension will be the sum of two parts:

Canadian Press pension + DBplus pension = Total annual pension payable from the CAAT Pension Plan

  • Your Canadian Press pension is the pension you have earned up to June 30, 2019, which will be replicated and payable from the CAAT Pension Plan, once assets are transferred.
  • Your DBplus pension is the pension you are earning under the DBplus plan design as of July 1, 2019.
Contact Us Image

Questions? Contact Us

The CAAT Plan's member services team are available to answer any questions you may have.

Skip to the content

Aux participants du Régime de retraite des CAAT provenant de La Presse Canadienne

Dernières nouvelles de la fusion

Le transfert de l’actif est complet

Les actifs des régimes de retraite à prestations déterminées de La Presse Canadienne ont été transférés avec succès au Régime de retraite des CAAT. L’Autorité ontarienne de réglementation des services financiers (ARSF) a consenti au transfert des actifs des deux régimes de retraite à prestations déterminées (PD) de La Presse Canadienne au Régime de retraite des CAAT. L’actif – d’une valeur de près de 100 millions de dollars – a été transféré sur la caisse du Régime des CAAT le 27 décembre 2019.

Maintenant que tout l’actif et tout le passif ont été transférés, le Régime des CAAT assume le versement des rentes à prestations déterminées de tous les participants retraités des régimes de la PC, y compris celles des pensionnés à l’extérieur de l’Ontario.

Les participants de La Presse Canadienne peuvent s’attendre prochainement à recevoir un message leur détaillant les aspects de leur pension, maintenant que le transfert des actifs est complet. Pour toute question, veuillez écrire à info@dbplus.ca.

Contexte

Le 28 juillet 2019, 100 % des participants aux régimes PD de La Presse Canadienne ont voté en faveur de la fusion avec le Régime de retraite des CAAT. Les participants de tous les régimes de retraite des employés de La Presse Canadienne – tant ceux à cotisations déterminées (CD) que ceux à prestations déterminées (PD) – ont commencé le 1er juillet 2019 à verser des cotisations et à se constituer des revenus de retraite aux termes de la conception DBplus du Régime des CAAT. Le Régime des CAAT, pour sa part, a déposé des demandes auprès de l’Autorité ontarienne de réglementation des services financiers (ARSF) pour obtenir son consentement au transfert des actifs des régimes de retraite PD de La Presse Canadienne au Régime des CAAT. Le 22 novembre 2019, l’ARSF a publié des avis d’intention conditionnels concernant la fusion des régimes de la PC avec le Régime de retraite des CAAT. Le directeur général de l’ARSF a ainsi manifesté son intention de consentir aux fusions des régimes de retraite à la suite d’une période standard de 30 jours qui sert à faciliter toute éventuelle demande pertinente auprès du Tribunal des services financiers. Les avis d’intention conditionnels, au moment de leur publication, ne s’appliquaient pas aux bénéficiaires du Québec, dont le cas a été traité séparément. Mais après tout, 100 % de l’actif des régimes PD de La Presse Canadienne a été transféré.

Quel est mon taux de cotisation aux termes de DBplus?

La Presse Canadienne

Date d’entrée en vigueur Cotisations du participant Cotisations de l'employeur
1er juillet 2019 7,0 % 7,0 %

Avec qui dois-je communiquer si j’ai des questions au sujet de mes prestations de retraite ou si je veux modifier mes coordonnées?

Le Service aux participants de La Presse Canadienne au Régime de retraite des CAAT
Sans frais : 1 800 893-3540
Adresse courriel : canadianpress@mercer.com

Détails sur votre nouvelle pension du Régime des CAAT

Si vous avez déjà droit à une pension de l’un des régimes à prestations déterminées antérieurs de La Presse Canadienne, le total de votre rente annuelle sera la somme de deux parties :

Rente au titre de La Presse Canadienne + rente DBplus = rente totale payable sur la caisse du Régime de retraite des CAAT

  • Votre rente en vertu de La Presse Canadienne est toute la pension que vous avez gagnée jusqu’au 28 juin 2019, qui sera reproduite et tirée de la caisse du Régime de retraite des CAAT, une fois le transfert des actifs complet.
  • Votre rente DBplus se réfère aux droits à retraite que vous accumulez en vertu de la conception DBplus du Régime des CAAT depuis le 1er juillet 2019.
Contact Us Image

Vous avez des questions? Contactez-nous

L'équipe des Services aux participants du Régime de retraite des CAAT est là pour répondre à vos questions.