Skip to the content

Your pension contributions

The CAAT Pension Plan makes it easy to save for retirement and build a stable, predictable retirement income. You contribute a percentage of your earnings into the Plan each pay and your employer matches your contributions dollar for dollar.

Your contributions, and those of your employer, are prudently invested in the Plan fund from which your pension is paid when you retire. Contributions are used to fund your pension, but your pension is worth so much more than just the contributions you made.

  • You receive immediate tax savings when you contribute to the Plan. Your pension contributions are deducted from your gross income, which reduces your taxable income – the amount on which your taxes are deducted. By the end of the year, the income on which you pay taxes has been reduced by the amount of your pension contributions. This has the same effect as an RRSP contribution – but your employer reduces your tax right away, so that you don't have to wait until you file your tax return.
  • Your contributions are matched by your employer. These contributions are not a taxable benefit to you and you do not count this as income.
  • Like your RRSP savings, the contributions you and your employer make are allowed to accumulate in the pension fund tax-free. Once you retire and begin collecting your pension from the Plan, income tax will be applied to your payments. However, in most cases, it will be at a lower marginal tax rate than when you were employed.

Your DBplus contribution rates

DBplus contribution rates were set by your employer when it joined the CAAT Plan. Employers match member contributions. DBplus contributions are based on any employment earnings that are received by you and are reflected on your T4.

Choose your employer from the list below to see your contribution rates.

Effective date Employee contributions Employer contributions
July 1, 2019 - March 31, 2020 4.0% 4.0%
April 1, 2020 and thereafter 5.0% 5.0%
Effective date Employee contributions Employer contributions
August 1, 2019 - July 31, 2020 3.0% 3.0%
August 1, 2020 - July 31, 2021 4.0% 4.0%
August 1, 2021 and thereafter 5.0% 5.0%
For corporate officers
August 1, 2019 and thereafter 5.0% 5.0%
Effective date Employee contributions Employer contributions

 

Option 1 Option 2

 

January 1, 2019

1.0%

5.0%

5.0%

January 1, 2020

2.0%

5.0%

5.0%

January 1, 2021

3.0%

5.0%

5.0%

January 1, 2022

4.0%

5.0%

5.0%

January 1, 2023 and thereafter

5.0%

5.0%

5.0%

Contribute as long as you work (until you turn 71)

If you decide to work past the normal retirement age of 65, you can keep contributing and earning more retirement income until you stop working. However once you turn 71, you must stop contributing to the fund and start collecting your pension, even if you continue working.

Enrolling in DBplus

If you work for an employer that participates in DBplus, and you have the option to join, contact your employer to complete an enrolment form. 

Do you work outside of Ontario?

Some Plan provisions may be impacted by the pension legislation that is applicable based on your province of employment.
Contact Us Image

Questions? Contact Us

The CAAT Plan's member services team are available to answer any questions you may have.

Skip to the content

Vos cotisations de retraite

Le Régime de retraite des CAAT facilite l’épargne pour la retraite ainsi que la constitution d’une pension stable et prévisible à vie. Vous affectez un pourcentage de chaque chèque de paie au Régime, et votre employeur verse une cotisation équivalente à la vôtre.

Vos cotisations et les cotisations de votre employeur sont prudemment placées dans la caisse du Régime, dans laquelle votre rente sera puisée lorsque vous prendrez votre retraite. Certes, vos cotisations servent au financement de vos prestations, mais la valeur de ces dernières dépassera largement la somme que vous aurez cotisée le long de votre vie active.

  • Vous bénéficiez d’une économie d’impôt immédiate quand vous cotisez au Régime. Vos cotisations sont en effet déduites de votre revenu brut, ce qui diminue votre revenu imposable, c’est‑à‑dire le montant sur lequel vos impôts sont prélevés. À la fin de l’année, le revenu sur lequel vous payez des impôts est réduit du montant de vos cotisations au Régime. Cela revient au même qu’une cotisation à un REER – sauf que votre employeur réduit votre fardeau fiscal immédiatement, de sorte que vous n’avez pas à attendre de remettre votre déclaration de revenus l’année prochaine.
  • Votre employeur versera une cotisation de contrepartie égale à la vôtre. Ces cotisations ne sont pas un avantage imposable, et vous ne les déclarez pas comme revenus.
  • Tout comme les épargnes dans votre REER, vos cotisations et celles de votre employeur s’amassent dans la caisse de retraite à l’abri de l’impôt. Une fois que vous prendrez votre retraite et commencerez à toucher votre rente du Régime, des impôts seront prélevés de vos paiements, sauf (dans la plupart des cas) à un taux d’imposition marginal inférieur à votre fourchette d’imposition lorsque vous étiez au travail.

Votre taux de cotisation en vertu de DBplus

Les taux de cotisation aux termes de DBplus ont été fixés par votre employeur au moment où celui-ci a adhéré au Régime de retraite des CAAT. L’employeur verse une cotisation égale à celle du participant, au dollar près. Les cotisations aux termes de DBplus sont calculées à partir de vos revenus d'emploi définis par votre employeur qui, dans la plupart des cas, correspondent aux revenus figurant sur votre feuillet T4.

Choisissez votre employeur de la liste ci-dessous pour un aperçu de vos taux de cotisation.

Cotisez aussi longtemps que vous travaillerez (jusqu’à l’âge de 71 ans)

Si vous choisissez de travailler au-delà de la date de retraite normale de 65 ans, vous pouvez continuer de cotiser et d’accumuler une plus grande pension jusqu’au moment où vous arrêterez de travailler. Mais lorsque vous atteignez l’âge de 71 ans, vous devez cesser de cotiser à la caisse et commencer à toucher votre pension, même si vous travaillez encore.

Adhésions à DBplus

Si vous travaillez chez un employeur participant à DBplus et avez vous-même l’option d’adhérer, demandez un formulaire d’adhésion directement auprès de votre employeur.

Travaillez-vous en dehors de l’Ontario?

Certaines dispositions du Régime peuvent varier selon les lois provinciales concernant la retraite en vigueur dans la province où vous travaillez.

Contact Us Image

Vous avez des questions? Contactez-nous

L'équipe des Services aux participants du Régime de retraite des CAAT est là pour répondre à vos questions.