Skip to the content

DBplus offers valuable features, such as predictable, lifetime income in retirement, inflation protection and survivor benefits. It pools risks and it is more efficient than traditional single employer DB plans and delivers substantially more pension than DC arrangements can for the average member. Further, members don’t take on risks they can’t effectively manage, such as longevity and market volatility, and timing.

DBplus is easy to administer, but still provides substantial value. DBplus has a fixed contribution rate which provides cost and accounting certainty for employers, and removes key risks for employers interested in offering DB pensions, which Canadians strongly prefer.

What are the advantages for members?

Its features include what Canadians have said they want in a workplace pension – lifetime pension, survivor benefits and inflation protection.

 

Secure defined benefits members can count on

DBplus members can rely on a lifetime pension based on earnings that removes the need to worry about complex investments, market downturns, or outliving their savings.

Two people holding hands

Survivor benefits

A lifetime pension is payable to the member’s surviving spouse, even if the member marries after retirement. In a case of death before retirement, more options are available.

Icon showing graph

Inflation adjustments

The impact of inflation is offset through the Plan’s conditional inflation protection of 75% of the year-over-year increase in the Consumer Price Index.

Bar chart increasing in size

Pension accrual increases with wages

Conditional wage enhancements reflect general wage increases (AIW) and the time value of money.

Person standing on direction arrows

Portability

A member’s pension is seamlessly portable among the 41 participating employers and highly portable with other plans.

Briefcase

Purchase past service

Members have the option to purchase eligible pension service or transfer pensions from any registered pension plan in Canada and consolidate a bigger DB pension.

How does DBplus Work?

Learn about how DBplus member’s contributions work to provide a secure lifetime pension and other valuable benefits.

Finally, a modern pension plan for Canadians. DBplus pension design is unique and one which is long overdue. DBplus will become a leader in the pension industry in Canada and Canadians will have better retirements because of this innovation.

Ronald A. Pink, Q.C., A founding and managing partner of Pink Larkin, specializing in pension and benefits law
Computer monitor displaying the DBplus value tool.

Try the DBplus Value Tool

This simple tool estimates the value of a pension in DBplus by the CAAT Pension Plan. With just a few pieces of information, get an estimate of future contributions in DBplus and immediately see how they result in a valuable lifetime retirement income.

How does DBplus work?

Members participating in DBplus earn a guaranteed base lifetime pension. Depending on the funding level, benefit enhancements are made to reflect wage growth, inflation, and early retirement factors. The better the funding status of the Plan the more enhancements are made. The Plan uses reserves and its Funding Policy to keep benefits secure.

Excellent value for members

Members participating in DBplus would earn a guaranteed lifetime pension, equal to the total contributions made (member plus matching employer contributions), multiplied by an Annual Pension Factor of 8.5% during each year of participation. This pension factor reflects the goal of enabling retiring members participating in DBplus to receive about 800% return on their contributions in pension payments

From earning benefits to a lifetime pension

Features of DBplus by the CAAT Plan include a secure lifetime pension, survivor benefits, and inflation protection. It’s easy to administer and provides similar value to the current Plan design: on average, members collect pensions equal to 800% of contributions made during their careers.

Graph showing pension accrual for average member retiring at age 65, and pension payments starting at age 65,  including inflation protection and survivor benefit enhancements.

I am thrilled by this new pension system designed and administered by CAAT. I have been promoting exactly this type of plan for the past decade in my academic research and writing. And now it is here. And with one of the most respected plan administrators in Canada, CAAT. Congratulations! I hope you are overwhelmed with the success of this wonderful venture.

Robert L. Brown, PhD, FCIA, FSA ACAS FIA (Hons) Retired Professor of Actuarial Science and Director of the Institute of Insurance and Pension Research
Contact Us Image

Interested in learning more?

If you represent an interested employer or member group and would like to speak to us, contact the CAAT Pension Plan directly.

Skip to the content

Menu

DBplus offre les caractéristiques précieuses que recherchent les participants, comme un revenu de retraite prévisible, une protection contre l’inflation et des prestations de conjoint survivant. Il mutualise les risques et il est plus efficace que les régimes de retraite PD traditionnels à employeur unique. Pour le participant moyen, DBplus fournit des rentes beaucoup plus élevées que celles proposées par les régimes CD. De plus, les participants n'assument pas les risques qu’ils ne peuvent pas gérer efficacement, tels que la longévité des prestataires et la volatilité des marchés.

DBplus est facile à administrer, mais offre néanmoins une valeur importante. DBplus est assorti d'un taux de cotisation fixe qui procure aux employeurs une certitude en matière de couts et de comptabilité et supprime les principaux risques pour les employeurs souhaitant offrir des régimes de retraite PD, que les Canadiens préfèrent vivement.

Télécharger le manuel (PDF)

Quels sont les avantages pour les participants?

Ses caractéristiques incluent les éléments que les Canadiens ont déclaré vouloir dans une pension en milieu de travail : une pension viagère, des prestations de conjoint survivant et une protection contre l'inflation.

Des prestations déterminées sures, sur lesquelles les participants peuvent compter

Les participants DBplus peuvent compter sur une rente viagère établie en fonction de leurs revenus, ce qui leur évite de se soucier des investissements complexes, de la volatilité des marchés ou de la possibilité d'épuiser leurs épargnes avant la fin de leurs jours.

Prestations de conjoint survivant

Une rente viagère est payable au conjoint survivant du participant, même si celui-ci se marie après la retraite. En cas de décès avant la retraite, d'autres options sont disponibles.

Augmentations au titre de protection contre l'inflation

L'impact de l'inflation est compensé grâce à la protection conditionnelle contre l'inflation, qui s'établit à 75 % de la variation de l’Indice des prix à la consommation.

La pension accumulée augmente avec le salaire

Les augmentations conditionnelles de la rente reflètent les augmentations des salaires générales (SMI) et la valeur temporelle de l'argent.

Portabilité

La pension du participant est facilement transférable entre les 41 employeurs participants et très facilement transférable au sein d'autres régimes de retraite.

Rachat de périodes d’emploi antérieures

Les participants ont la possibilité de racheter des périodes d'emploi admissibles ou de transférer des rentes d'un régime de pension agréé au Canada afin de consolider une plus grande pension.

Comment fonctionne DBplus?

Découvrez comment les cotisations des participants DBplus leur permettent de constituer une rente viagère sécurisée et de bénéficier d'autres avantages précieux.

Enfin, un régime de retraite moderne pour les Canadiens. La conception des pensions DBplus est unique et attendue depuis longtemps. DBplus deviendra un chef de file du secteur des régimes de retraite au Canada et les Canadiens auront un meilleur départ à la retraite grâce à cette innovation.

Ronald A. Pink, c.r., Associé fondateur et dirigeant de Pink Larkin, spécialisé en droit des retraites et des avantages sociaux

Mettez l'outil de valeur DBplus à l'essai

Cet outil convivial permet d'estimer la valeur d'une rente DBplus offerte par le Régime de retraite des CAAT. À l’aide de quelques renseignements, obtenez une estimation de vos cotisations futures avec DBplus et voyez immédiatement comment elles génèrent un précieux revenu de retraite.

Comment fonctionne DBplus?

Les participants DBplus accumulent une pension de base garantie à vie. En fonction du niveau de capitalisation du Régime, des augmentations des prestations sont apportées pour refléter les facteurs de croissance des salaires, d'inflation et de retraite anticipée. Plus la situation de capitalisation du Régime est positive, plus ces augmentations seront importantes. Le Régime emploie ses réserves et sa politique de financement pour sécuriser les avantages.

Excellent rapport qualité-prix

Les participants DBplus accumulent une rente viagère garantie correspondant au total des cotisations (versées par le participant et par l’employeur), multiplié par un facteur de retraite annuel de 8,5 % pour chaque année de participation. Ce facteur de retraite permet de réaliser un des objectifs du Régime, soit de permettre aux participants de bénéficier d'un rendement d'environ 800 % sur leurs cotisations.   

De l'accumulation de votre rente au versement des prestations viagères

Les caractéristiques de DBplus du régime CAAT comprennent une rente viagère sure, des prestations de conjoint survivant et une protection contre l'inflation. Il est facile à administrer et offre une valeur similaire à celle de la conception actuelle du Régime : en moyenne, les participants perçoivent une pension correspondant à 800 % des cotisations versées au cours de leur carrière.

Je suis ravi de ce nouveau système de pension conçu et administré par le Régime des CAAT. Je fais la promotion de ce type de Régime depuis une dizaine d’années dans mes travaux de recherche et de rédaction. C'est enfin arrivé; et avec l'un des administrateurs de régimes de retraite les plus respectés au Canada, le Régime des CAAT. Toutes nos félicitations! Je vous souhaite le meilleur des succès dans cette merveilleuse entreprise.

Robert L. Brown, PhD, FICA, FSA ACAS FIA (Hons) Professeur retraité en sciences actuarielles et directeur de la Institute of Insurance and Pension Research
Contact Us Image

Vous voulez en apprendre davantage?

Si vous représentez un employeur ou un groupe intéressé et que vous souhaitez nous parler, contactez directement le Régime de retraite des CAAT.